The village of Cornillon stretches languorously along a rocky outcrop and we can guess that its lookout point offers glorious views over the Céze valley.
Wandering its picturesque little lanes and vaulted passageways, we don't regret making a stop in this charming village where time seems to have stood still. Walking past the beautiful old houses, we discover the studios of painters, potters and artists who have chosen to live here.
The ramparts and the ruins of the old feudal castle testify to an illustrious past, intimately linked to the history of the popes of Avignon.
The village of Cornillon in the Cèze Valley
Panoramic view from the castle of Cornillon
Theatre in the castle of Cornillon
The remains of the chateau of Cornillon
Casse-cou street in Cornillon
Walk the streets of village of Cornillon
House on the ramparts of Cornillon
Orientation table of Cournillon
Take a stroll along the ramparts of Cornillon
The church of the perched village of Cornillon
In the 14th century, the castle of Cornillon became the property of Guillaume de Beaufort, the brother of Pope Clement VI. At the time of Guillaume's death, the castle of Cornillon comprised 40 rooms, two chapels and a 6-storey keep. The inventory of its furnishing and property at the time reveals fabulous wealth. Only the lower part of the keep, some of the ramparts and a square tower of the medieval castle remain.
In the 17th century, the castle of Cornillon belonged to the duke Henri II de Montmorency, governor of Languedoc and an important figure until he intrigued with Gaston d'Orléans against Richelieu. He was beheaded in Toulouse in 1632. His properties were ordered to be destroyed and the castle of Cornillon was also demolished. The walls that remain from this period and their big windows overlook the valley. You can see the valley from the courtyard, today turned into an outdoor theatre. Since 1679, the castle belongs to the Sibert family.
Walking along the ramparts, which offer views that we never tire of, we arrive at the Place du Barry. An orientation table there helps us situate the hamlets nestling on the verdant plain.
Below the old village, near the washhouse, we find sarcophagi from the Middle Ages that had been found near the old church, destroyed by Protestant troops in the 16th century and of which only a piece of wall still stands. The present-day church was built in one of the castle's chapels with the ramparts forming the outer wall.
Many trails cross the countryside and let you discover the surroundings, including the hamlet of Saint-Gély, dominated by the Saint-Sauveur Chapel dating from the 12th century.
Nearby, the villages of Goudargues and La Roque sur Céze are listed among the most beautiful villages of France.